Restoran Nyonya Makko – Melaka

25 Jun

Hubby and I went to Melaka a few weeks ago to visit some friends and we took this opportunity to meet at one of my favourite Nyonya restaurants – Restauran Nyonya Makko in Taman Melaka Raya.

Image

It has been around since 1984 and I was introduced to it by a friend who was the classmate of the boss’ daughter. So these are what we ordered:

Image

Squid sambal (I think) in the foreground and kangkung sambal belacan behind it. The squid was quite spicy but both were not bad.

Image

Clockwise from the front: Cincalok omelette, steamed tofu, chicken pongteh. The steamed tofu was so-so but I like the omelette and pongteh. The omelette was a tad salty this time though.

Image

Fried otak-otak! I love otak-otak so I thought this time I’d try the fried version. Nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Image

Cendol in front, sago gula melaka at the back. What is a visit to Makko if you don’t order their shaved ice desserts? The cendol is one of my favourites because of the gula melaka that they use. I even bought a bag of the delicious palm sugar from them.

All in all, I’d highly recommend the place. Can be quite busy during peak hours so give them a call if you’re coming from far.

 

Restoran Nyonya Makko

123, Jalan Merdeka, Taman Melaka Raya, 75000 Melaka

Tel.: 06 – 284 0737

Fax: 06 – 283 7490

Lunch   : 11.30am – 2.45pm

Dinner  : 6.00pm – 9.30pm

Closed on Tuesdays

2 Responses to “Restoran Nyonya Makko – Melaka”

  1. cherishchee August 12, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    I would like some fried otak-otak, cendol and sago gula melaka please. It looks so yummy!

    • serenification August 12, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

      I know, right? Definitely try the cendol and sago gula melaka!

Leave a Reply

